Stockholm City facts

StockholmMayor: Sten Nordin

County: Stockholms Län

Uppland & Södermanland province, eastern coast of Sweden.

Population 837,000; Great Stockholm:
1,980,000 (March 2010)

Total municipal area: 188 square kilometres

Total Metropolitan area:
6,488 square kilometres

East Longitude 18°4', North Latitude 59°21’

Time zone:
GMT + 1 (GMT + 2 from last Sunday in March to Saturday before last Sunday in October)

Country dialling code:
Phone Area Code: 08

Stockholm - Arlanda International Airport (STO), Bromma Airport (BRO)

Main Train Stations:
Stockholm Central station (T-Centralen)

Ferry terminals:
Värtahamnen & Stadsgårdshamnen (Ferries to Åland, Finland, Estonia, Lithuania and Russia)

Predominantly Lutheran (Church of Sweden)

Tourist season:
Spring, summer and autumn

Stockholm County has 26 municipalities: Botkyrka, Danderyd, Ekerö, Haninge, Huddinge, Järfälla, Lidingö, Nacka, Norrtälje, Nykvarn, Nynäshamn, Salem, Sigtuna, Sollentuna, Solna, Stockholm, Sundbyberg, Södertälje, Tyresö, Täby, Upplands-Bro, Upplands Väsby, Vallentuna, Vaxholm, Värmdö, Österåker.

Four distinct seasons. Summers are warm and pleasant and very green.  Autumns are mild and colourful. Winters, especially in January-March can be quite cold but Stockholm covered with snow is a unique experience. Spring time is the time when Stockholm really is changing, as a flower that blossom.

Sister cities:
The policy from the mayors office is to have no agreements with other cities as sister cities. Stockholm believes that all capitals around the world are informally to bee regarded as sister cities.

Partner Sites